Making A Fresh Call of Duty

 

I’m not going to lie… Call of Duty is getting a little stinky. The same thing has been sitting in the sun for too long and honestly, it’s getting a little ripe. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy some occasional Free for All or some Team Defender and Infection with friends, but overall, the Call of Duty franchise has become a bit stale.

Modern Warfare 3 is my least favorite in the series, with Call of Duty 4 being my all-time favorite. And even though I sit here and ramble about how poop-like Call of Duty is becoming, I know that I would still buy any new releases. Just like nearly every other gamer out there.

So it made me think. What would make a new Call of Duty feel fresh? Call of Duty in Space? Call of Duty meets Grand Theft Auto (wtf)?

A Call of Duty game has to feel like a Call of Duty game, right? Obviously that’s why developers are sticking with the same strategy when it comes to new games (aside from continuing to make loads of cash). You’re a soldier, you shoot things, you earn monstrous killstreaks, and then you brag about how bad ass you are to the crying little kids on the other team. Right? Right. But it’s getting a little monotonous.

But let me get to my points. Here comes another list! Don’t worry, it’s a short one.

1)      Less is more. With killstreaks, that is. Don’t get me wrong, I can’t help but enjoy blasting down insignificant foes with my chopper gunner, but ultimately it becomes overpowered and boring. Call of Duty 4 had it right with the 3-5-7 killstreak rewards. More run and gun, less killstreak power.

2)      Allow community made maps! Let players create their own maps that can be used in their private matches when they get bored with all of the default maps online. Maybe even make an approved online playlist. Give players tools to make something different and exciting for other players to explore. I would love to be able to showcase a new map that I’ve worked hard to build, and I would definitely enjoy seeing other people play on it.

3)      Keep the wager matches around. Sometimes, Domination and Capture the Flag just gets boring. Wager matches were successful when it came to offering a variety of things to keep a bored gamer occupied. Mostly I say this because I enjoyed knifing in Gun Game way too much.

4)      Bring back personal customization. I loved being able to make my own emblem for everyone to see in Black Ops. But maybe developers could expand this. What about character customization? I don’t have too many opinions or details about how this could work, and frankly it’s not something that is incredibly important to me, but it would still be awesome to have my own avatar running around the maps. Especially a female avatar.

I may be tempted to continue this list as new ideas come to mind, but until then, what are some of your opinions? Can you think of a way to make a new Call of Duty fresh and new?

4 thoughts on “Making A Fresh Call of Duty

    • I personally enjoy using claymores in game types like Search and Destroy where it’s important to keep watch on a bombsite. But less killstreaks & map customization would make the game absolutely amazing.

      I can only imagine how awesome it would be to host an open lobby on my own maps.

      • Claymores eww lol Map customization would be really fun! I just think smaller maps make any game so much better. It promotes no campers and more gun on gun action! When I play I don’t want to run around for an hour to find someone!

  1. Pingback: Call of Duty Ideas – Map Editor | CKM

Leave a Reply

