So Much to Play, So Little Time

 

 

By: Steven Collins

Have you ever had a holiday, birthday or celebration where you got just too many gifts to really use/appreciate?

This past May, in coordination with my birthday, graduation and a couple buy-two-get-one coupons that I received from GameStop upon re-instating my Gold account, I managed to by a boat load of games, including Assassin’s Creed 2, Dead Rising 2, Spiderman: Shattered Dimensions, UnCharted, two different Guitar Heros, Mass Effect 3, Gears of War 3, Medal of Honor and Sniper Elite V2.

While sales and deals like the one at GameStop and a 50% off sale at a local retro game store (in which I bought Max Payne 3 and Saints Row 3 to add to the pile) give me the option to purchase most/all of the games that I’m interested to play, it does create a couple problems. One, it creates a log jam of stuff that I have to play and two, it makes me rush through things just to get through the story mode.

Between working at my not quite full time job, looking for a job in my given field of my recent college degree, family things and just the daily and weekly necessities of life that I have to take care of It doesn’t really give me a whole lot of time to play; especially since I only have one true day where I can game.

I’m really unhappy with how I’ve been handling it. I rushed through Spiderman: Shattered Dimensions and beat the story in about six hours (with about 100 of 180 achievements completed). I finished Medal of Honor in one six hour sitting, I’m about three hours into Mass Effect 3, I’m on mission four of Sniper Elite V2, I’m 75% of the way through Uncharted, four hours into Assassin’s Creed 2 and I haven’t touched Max Payne 3, Gears 3, Dead Rising 2, and Saints Row 3.

All the time I’ve spent playing this stuff it hasn’t been fun. It’s been a chore. I’m not treating it like it’s fun, like it’s entertainment, I’m treating it like a “to-do list of gaming” and that’s not what it is about. In my mind gaming should be fun. I’m not one to be more than casually competitive; meaning competing against random players is okay but spending hours honing my skills to be a professional or even top level pub star seems to just zap any ounce of fun a game has.

One of the recent things I’ve decided to do to help the situation is not buy or play any new games until everything is finished. Not another game until all 200-300 hours of things that I have under my belt currently for both of my systems have been played to my satisfaction. Hopefully I can use this guideline to slow everything down and find that enjoyment that gaming has to offer while experiencing the great storytelling that the game makers have to offer. Besides, I can do it. Assassin’s Creed II doesn’t come out until late October.

2 thoughts on “So Much to Play, So Little Time

Leave a Reply

