Gamer Spotlight – Catex

Catex

Q: Tell us a little bit about yourself. How do you express your passion for gaming?

A: My name is Matt Anderson, but I produce music under the name of ‘Catex’. I’ve been producing for about 6 years now, but it’s only been in the last year that I started getting my name out there. Aside from producing, I’m not terribly creative. I can attempt crude drawings, but the garbage is the only thing to see those. Otherwise, my real job is body piercing. I suppose that could count as being creative.

Q: Are there any particular games you consider as inspirations?

A: There are a few games that I’ve pulled inspiration from! First and foremost, Unreal Tournament. The announcer in that game has the most epic voice, ever. I grew up playing the original UT on pc. I dumped hours into that game. I’ve already made one tune dedicated to UT. Otherwise, I’d say games like Dead Space, Mass Effect, and anything with great atmosphere I can pull ideas from.

Q: If you could make music for any game, what game would it be?

A:  I’d love to make music for games! It helps being able to produce anything from hard dance, to mainstream pop, to movie scores. I’ve done it all. Having said that, if I had a choice, I’d want to produce music for more fast paced games. Shooters like Call of Duty, Battlefield, Medal of Honor (RIP), or even racing games like the Need for Speed series, Gran Turismo, or Project Gotham Racing if they ever bring that back.

Q: Where can we contact you/find your music?

A: My music can be found at Soundcloud, YouTube, Facebook, and Twitter – @CatexMusic. Aside from those official sites, I’ve also had multiple features on Dubstep.net and Drumnbass.net.

Leave a Reply

