The Call of Duty Mentality

CoD

Rule number one of video games: They’re supposed to be fun.

For some reason, people have forgotten this, and I truly believe that the community has suffered because of it. There is a reason that people look at video games as ‘child’s play,’ and it’s not because of the type of video games that take up our screens. It’s because of the attitudes they have encountered from gamers.

And ultimately, it places us all in a very disrespectful light. I like to place these certain gamers inside of a category I call the Call of Duty Mentality. Call of Duty has unleashed a widespread of personalities, both positive and negative, but what does it take to become a part of this ever-so-popular club?

  1. Rage Quitting: Sometimes games are challenging. Sometimes games are downright frustrating. But isn’t the challenge one of the reasons you buy certain games? Yes, it can be understandable when you have 400,000 points in a hardpoint game that your team ultimately loses, but it’s different when you find yourself slamming your controller on the floor and leaving the room when someone legitimately outplays you. Everyone can dropshot. If this is what ignites your ragequitting tendencies, then maybe you should learn how to dropshot as well.
  2. Losing Your Temper: Once again… games can be frustrating, but some healthy competition should be err—healthy. I personally hate having to mute that one friend on my team because all he does is yell and cry and spew curses at the enemy team because he has a class that makes no sense. Pro tip: There is only a window of a few seconds after you die when your killer can hear you. But if you yell and rage at everything, chances are they have you muted anyway. Maybe try some soothing tea or yoga. Breathing exercises may help too. Or… maybe you should just stick to a different game.
  3. Social Ranters: I don’t envy David Vonderhaar’s position, and I can’t help but wince at every death threat and complaint I see online. You had a bad night on Call of Duty; it happens to all of us, but hopping on Twitter with a red face and posting tweets about how much Call of Duty sucks doesn’t help anything. I can already tell you, Vonderhaar doesn’t give two shits about your complaint when your tweet is, “OMG, CODSUCKSASSLAGIHATEYOURFACE.”  And ultimately, all of your overhyped rage tweets become irrelevant when you hop back on the game that you apparently hate just two seconds later. Self respect… learn it.
  4. The Invincible Ones: I call these people invincible for the sole reason that they believe they do no wrong. It’s obviously your teammates that made you lose that Domination game. Went negative during that one Hardpoint game? Obviously lag. When you break it down, sometimes (most of the time) the fault rests completely on your own shoulders. Try some logical things: Switch out your classes, try out a new playstyle… or you can just rage quit. We won’t miss you.
  5. Obnoxious Cursing: You suck, I get it, but calling me names only makes me enjoy beating you. I’m less likely to leave a lobby when you’re calling me a bitch because I just went 87687 and 1 on a game of Team Deathmatch. And “tryhard” is a compliment… if you’re truly playing competitively and you’re not “trying hard” to win, then why complain when you lose? Log off and calm down with some Diner Dash. Maybe eat some soap while you’re at it.

Ultimately, if video games like Call of Duty yank out your aggressive side, then maybe you should quit and learn some good sportsmanship. People like you only fuel those pesky violence articles that the media enjoys to toss in our faces, and the rest of us suffer beneath the accusations. Games are meant to be challenging. Call of Duty is meant to bring out your competitive side, but if you aren’t having fun playing… don’t play. It’s a simple solution.

What kind of “typical” Call of Duty players do you hate encountering?

5 thoughts on “The Call of Duty Mentality

  1. Pingback: Horror, Asymmetrical Dementia and The Prisoner’s Dilemma (Soap Not Included) | trivialpunk

  2. I agree and disagree with this article. It does highlight some of the negative aspects of online gaming that CoD has definitely personified, and that laundry list is much longer than what you’ve posted here! However, I can’t say that CoD has CREATED these issues, it’s just that is has become the main outlet for a vocal majority to express their pre-pubescent adolescence tendencies through.

    Also, keep in mind the term “fun” is HIGHLY subjective, and cannot be nailed down with a single definition by even the brightest of minds in the industry. For some, being that angry, hyper-competitive, trash talker, is incredibly fun. The unfortunate side of that is it ruins the experience for others. If the platform that ran these games actually enforced EULA’s and other varying agreements, like some MMO’s do, then it would start to clean up the “image” you speak of. So if anything, blame Xbox Live and Playstation Network for not enforcing a more friendly, but competitive environment.

    -Cheers

    • While I (humorously) stand by what I posted above, I understand where you’re coming from, and ultimately I agree. This post came from a personal experience. Call of Duty was my first introduction into online gaming so it’s often what I refer to, especially when it comes to particular attitudes and vibes that I get from other people. I think it’s just interesting to read into these different maturity levels! You have the young kids that think it’s fun to harass other players, but then as you continue playing, you kind of learn that this is a mindset that “most” of these young kids carry.

      I think overall it will always be a nuisance that is fun to complain about, because whether or not you enjoy it, these negative aspects will always be a part of the online console environment… maybe it’s even part of the appeal. Or maybe I’m just ranting and none of this makes any sense whatsoever.

      • I understand where you’re article was coming from, and the points you were making. I just like to elaborate a little 🙂 However, I can sympathize with you, as the overall community in CoD, along with the direction of the game, is what caused me to stop playing it and move on to other franchises after Modern Warfare 2. I sincerely feel bad for you that CoD was your first introduction to an online gaming community, for the most part. Just be aware that there are many gaming communities out there, around many different games, that are not nearly as immature and predictably annoying as the CoD community. Sometimes, it’s just time to move on!

  3. My first online experience was Quake 2 on PC – and back then, although very few people were able to broadcast VOIP- you could insult each other and celebrate your frags – you either had to stop playing for a few seconds to type these into the console (Lowering your guard) – or be sufficiently knowledgable to program a text macro – ultimately this meant that there was a LOT less spam and what was said was usually more succinct and polite. In fact – I remember congratulating people a few times on impressive cross-map railgun kills or rocket-jump dodging 😛

    As mentioned previously it does tend to depend on the type of game being played and the fanbase around that game. I can’t imagine people slagging each other off playing Civ5 or something of that ilk.

    Regardless – games companies and online communities really should figure out something to lessen the amount of tween-rage in gaming. Personally – if I’m playing battlefield and I hear a voice an octave higher than mine I immediately switch squads,
    I’m sure there are pleasant, mild mannered teenagers who can keep their temper and actually use the VOIP to give helpful advice like “Sniper 2nd floor restaurant” or “I’m guarding point A” … But I haven’t met one yet.

Leave a Reply

