Tomb Raider – A Storyteller’s Review

Tomb-Raider-2013-video-game-Wallpaper-7

“A famous explorer once said, that the extraordinary is in what we do, not who we are.”

If you have been an avid reader of my blog (you’re automatically awesome if you are), then you know that I’m pretty obsessive when it comes to storytelling and character development inside of video games. When the Tomb Raider reboot was first announced, I was immediately sold.

The other games that feature Lara Croft were never interesting games to me. Of course at that age, my vision of gaming was pretty limited to all things Zelda and racing games so anything else was automatically a heaping pile of poo, but even now, the urge to check out the past titles is nonexistent. Which could be a shame, but considering that Crystal Dynamics has presented a new beginning with this popular character, it’s not very disappointing.

First, I’m going to point out that the voice acting in this game is phenomenal. Camilla Luddington does a fantastic job voicing Lara Croft, despite the initial jokes about her overly exaggerated moans and grunts of pain that were first released. I have to admit, when the demo was first shown, I found myself giggling and blushing at the sounds. Thankfully the final product seems to have toned it down and I find myself cringing at the gruesome occurrences that fall on Lara’s shoulders.

This is the epitome of a strong woman and it showcases the perfect amount of naivety from Lara, and as the game progresses, she realistically grows and learns to adapt to the fearsome situations she finds herself stuck in. During several instances, I found myself pondering over the fact that I probably wouldn’t be able to survive under such conditions, and I love that I think about things like that… because Lara is a character to relate to. She’s easy to empathize with. She’s easy to like.

As far as the gameplay, the transition between cutscenes and play time is fluid… almost too fluid. There were a few times when I found myself mashing buttons when I didn’t need to, and when the time came to actually play, I failed to react in time. The consequences of not pressing a particular button in time can be catastrophic. The game doesn’t shun death and violence (understatement), and I found myself wanting to desperately avoid death like the plague because of it. Seeing Lara die in those horrible ways is definitely cringe-worthy, and no other game has psychologically affected me that dramatically.

But even though the game contains some nasty elements, it looks gorgeous!

Tomb Raider has a nice blend of horror, survival, and adventure in this new reboot, and overall, I’m definitely enjoying the game as it unfolds. I highly recommend it!

2 thoughts on “Tomb Raider – A Storyteller’s Review

  1. I love this post! I mean, I’ve been a Tomb Raider megafan since ’96 when the first game was released and have always had a place in my heart for Lara Croft, but this game still blew my mind. The series reboot was a brilliant idea from multiple standpoints, it’s drawing in a new and broader audience which contributes to sales but it also caters to what every Tomb Raider fan wants.

    I loved seeing Lara at her most vulnerable, seeing her get hurt was cringe-worthy for me as well. That’s a good thing though, since the devs wanted to make her more relateable and real, and they wanted players to care for her and protect her – which I find myself doing the entire time I am playing. I can empathize with her emotions and found myself feeling sad or angry right alongside her. The gameplay is fantastic as well, I have never played a game that transitioned so smoothly. This is truly a fantastic game that every game, past fan or not, should play!

  2. Great review; I haven’t played the game yet myself but I have been excited for it since the first teasers. Also was never interested in the older versions, but I love to see more storytelling and character development in popular games. I’m glad to hear this one is pulling it off.

Leave a Reply

