Fresh New Mass Effect Teased at PAX

ME

During the past week, BioWare has released several blogs written by their staff, sharing memories of the Mass Effect Trilogy that undoubtedly left me a little teary-eyed. During PAX East in Boston, a panel celebrating the trilogy produced “scant details and vague teases about the future of the series and its creators.”

“We are starting to get ready to develop another Mass Effect game, and it’s going to be a new thing,” series executive producer Casey Hudson said at a Mass Effect retrospective at PAX. “We want to be able to give fans an opportunity to get back into the world with these things you’ve come to know and love about the Mass Effect experience but start something fresh and new—a new way for you to explore the whole universe in Mass Effect.”

It’s been told that the game will be primarily developed in BioWare’s Montreal studio, and as we’ve already (unfortunately) been told, Commander Shepard will not be returning. Ultimately, this news is simply a repetitive tease, with no actual clues to the game’s content. And while exploring Mass Effect’s immersive world sounds fantastic, I certainly hope the storyline isn’t as… epic. Commander Shepard’s decisions ultimately changed the universe. Whether the plot takes place before or after the Reapers, I hope it’s the universe that changes the protagonist.

Shepard’s larger than life character is something I’ve thoroughly enjoyed, and his/her interactions with the supporting characters are what truly made the game for me, but I’d like the game to be “smaller” in the sense of the scale of the story. The Reapers were an overwhelming and looming danger and obviously required an epic telling, but perhaps introducing a more normal protagonist, one that is shaped by the world and his/her interactions with the universe would be a nice contrast. One thing is certain to me, though. Mass Effect will never be the same or as special as the first trilogy.

But this new game should let us choose our own species.

Or just bring back Liara. And Shepard. And blue children.

…I think I’ve lost my train of thought.

[SOURCE]

4 thoughts on “Fresh New Mass Effect Teased at PAX

  1. I would love to play as another alien race in the next Mass Effect, can’t wait to see what they do with this game! It is sad to say good bye to Shepard and the Normandy crew, but I feel ready to move on to new stories and characters. Seeing the ME universe from a new perspective as the franchise continues will be really exciting, I think.

    • I’m just one of those people that really latches onto characters. I have a hard time saying goodbye to them, and the Citadel DLC definitely didn’t help in that aspect! I’ll forever be a fan of fanfiction because of this. But moving on, I am extremely excited about what BioWare’s planning on doing for the 4th, especially in terms of exploration and seeing more of the universe. Moving toward a DA:O theme and having the choice of playing multiple species would be absolutely amazing. What I don’t really like, though, are the rumors stating that this could possibly be a prequel to the trilogy. I think I would prefer a much more personal storyline of reconstruction after the Reapers depending on what your end choice was in the 3rd, and having your missions and relationships become involved inside of that.

      • I totally know what you mean about getting attached to the characters! If the next game includes the Citadel, every time I see a turian in C-Sec blue I’ll want it to be Garrus. =(

        It would be really interesting to see what happens after the Reapers. I imagine importing that save would be tricky, though, just based on how different the endings are… I definitely want to get into fan fic, etc, to see the story play out more, though! Or maybe BioWare should do a choose-your-own adventure type of series — maybe comic books, maybe novels, even an interactive website — that lets you see how the universe carries on based on your ending!

        However, I’m actually most interested in a prequel for the next game. I guess I like the idea of exploring the ME universe as if it were brand new, when humans are just meeting aliens for the first time. I’m really interested in the First Contact War, and then the game could even have cameo appearances by Anderson, etc… although I’d rather get far away from the trilogy, because in a way I don’t want to be reminded at every turn of all the characters I miss so much!

        Anyway, I would definitely be excited to play a different species, depending on when and where the game takes place…

Leave a Reply

