Illness and Stress

Hey guys, this post may be a little bizarre compared to the normal topic, and I hate to say it, but this one doesn’t contain anything about gaming. Ultimately this would probably be better received in my journal, but since this could also temporarily change my writing schedule, I figured I’d just go ahead and update everyone in an official post.

It’s extremely difficult for me to write about this, mainly because everything is so fresh and things are so uncertain right now, and the information doesn’t include just me. And while it’s a balm to be able to write and express myself, I know that there needs to be a steady line between my public & private image, especially as things progress in my career. But then again, there are several of you that I sincerely consider friends, and I’ve already had my inbox and phone explode with curiosity and well wishes. And I thank all of you for that from the bottom of my heart.

But to get to the point…

Early Friday morning, my mother had an unexpected seizure. She has no history of them and there were no warning signs. She was rushed to the hospital for the expected tests, procedures, etc. and was released in a few hours.

We had a new medication. Everything was fine.

And then another seizure happened. I think something in me officially cracked. It’s as it should be when someone you love so intensely falls ill for no obvious reason. Everything just seems to fall apart around you. I had to accept the possibility that my mom wouldn’t make it, and needless to say, it wasn’t something I could handle.

As I write this, though, I feel like I’m about to pass out in relief. In the past two days, Mom has recovered and she’s back to acting like her usual self. I’m finally getting some sleep. Breathing is a little easier. Things right now are still uncertain. There will be trips to the doctor, and the possibility of more seizures is always lurking in the background. There’s nothing I can do about that. I have to simply take things as they come.

My writing schedule should turn back to normal soon. I had been running on nearly no sleep for the past three days so now it’s my turn to recover. Thanks for being patient! Things are still a little shaky here, but life is returning to something familiar. Look forward to more updates soon!

4 thoughts on “Illness and Stress

  1. Oh no, that would be stressful. Medical emergencies like that are always scary, especially when they seem to come out of nowhere. I’ve had those moments with my family too. But I’m glad your mom is doing okay again and that you’re getting some rest now! Wishing you and your family the best.

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your mom. Those things are never easy. I have gone through something similar, but with my uncle. You just have to hope for the best. At least things are getting back to normal for you. Looking forward to more posts from you!

  3. Yep, similar experience here too (unexpected illness/hospitalization) with my mom several years ago; and today, she’s doing better than ever. As you say, life can only happen one day at a time, and may each day get even better for you and your family. Sending happy thoughts.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear that Crystal. There is no easy path through these times in life, but know that my thoughts are with you and your family. Get some rest, and band together with your family. Together, you’ll be able to overcome this.

Leave a Reply

