Fans petition for return of Xbox One DRM policies

Xbox-One-1

What?!

Apparently, fans are petitioning Microsoft to bring back the restrictive DRM policies that were previously planned for the Xbox One, asking for a return to restricted ownership rights and online check-ins. Did I seriously hear this right?

“This was to be the future of entertainment,” says campaign leader Dave Fontenot. “A new wave of gaming where you could buy games digitally, then trade, share or sell those digital licenses. Essentially, it was Steam for Xbox. But consumers were uninformed, and railed against it, and it was taken away because Sony took advantage of consumers uncertainty.

We want this back. It can’t be all or nothing, there must be a compromise.”

I want to know one thing: How in the hell did Microsoft hook such incredibly blind followers? I have asked this (despite it igniting console wars) multiple times. How can people throw their money at this company so blindly and then boast about how incredible Microsoft and their products are? Even despite the numerous accounts of red rings and fees just to access online capabilities. I’ve never been able to understand the logical thought process of enthusiastic Microsoft fans… but maybe that’s just me.

I can somewhat understand the idea of a fully digital way of gaming and accessing entertainment. I don’t really enjoy the thought right now, but I understand it. However, requesting that these restrictive policies be put back into place for the sake of the “future of gaming” seems ludicrous to me. The world isn’t ready for an always-connected console. It just isn’t possible right now despite the arguments that state otherwise.

At the risk of igniting another console war, all of you blind Microsoft fans can have fun with your watercoolers and strange visions of the future. I’ll be over here having fun on my PC and PS4.

Reaching 100 signatures on the petition so far, it seems there really are Xbox One fans that want these restrictive policies back in place. What do you think?

6 thoughts on “Fans petition for return of Xbox One DRM policies

  1. Microsoft has already lost a ton of credibility in my eyes. I cannot trust them to even standby their own product, as much as I disagreed with the policy.

    Always online is, as you stated, not a feasible possibility at this point. The policies they proposed would do more to hurt the short-term future of gaming, leaving the long-term less than certain.

    Sony has won me over as a consumer and a gamer. Microsoft seems to be trying to alienate.

  2. There just seemed to be this “parent” thing happening with Microsoft and their presentation styles. “Here is what we have you will use it a like it. – Well if you’re just going to throw a fit about it then you can’t have any of it.” It just feels like a parent telling us, the consumer, what we are going to do and that we better like it because they say so and then, when the response wasn’t overwhelmingly positive, they took it back and put us all in time out. This sort of behavior makes me think that they don’t particularly want or maybe need my money so I’ll go give it to Sony, and maybe Nintendo, thank you very much.

  3. Has anyone checked the chans? These definitely seems like a troll move to get Microsoft to shoot themselves in the foot!

  4. I’m very curious what the demographics would be for a group supporting more restrictive policies. I can’t say I’m convinced it’s starving college kids.

Leave a Reply

