Ryan Kwanten is Venom in unofficial short film

SV

I can’t get the image of Sookie’s dimwitted brother out of my head when I think of Ryan Kwanten which is sad considering that he is a very intelligent person and a pretty sweet actor. However it was nice to see him take on such a different role from a character like Jason Stackhouse, and Kwanten as Eddie Brock was surprisingly believable in my eyes.

Adi Shankar, producer of Truth in Journalism, explained that the short wasn’t a petition to land Kwanten a role as Venom in a later movie (despite the fact that I think he could be a good choice), but to expand his vision as an artist and filmmaker.  “The philosophy is simple: Let’s take some of the money made from these movies to make something cool. I’m here now, I’m inevitably going to die at some point, and as an artist I feel an ardent urge to constantly be creating.

“I don’t subscribe to the school of thought that as a feature film producer I shouldn’t dabble in television, web content, or even comic books… that thinking perpetuates the consumerist mosh pit we are now desperately trying to dig ourselves out of. I have a burning desire to entertain and different mediums allow me to do this in different ways.”

Truth in Journalism follows the twisted Eddie Brock through a black and white documentary-style point of view that nicely captures Brock’s darkness and his determination to capture the best stories inside scenes of brutal justice. Death is all part of Venom’s work, and it is a nice switch from Topher Grace’s bland version in Spiderman 3. While I’m not normally a fan of the handheld point of view, it really accentuates the “realism” of the events, and in a film that was obviously a low-budget, it made the actual Venom reveal quite chilling.

While Venom’s appearance is not too astounding (it’s a fan-film, what are you expecting?), the close up of Venom’s face at the end was a nice touch and it definitely sent a few chills down my spine. The Bullseye cameo at the end was a nice addition as well, and while most people complain about the random appearance of that villain, it makes me wonder if perhaps it is a hint toward what we may see in the future.

Daredevil and Bullseye, maybe? I’d dig it.

For those of you not familiar with the gritty short films that take place inside the Marvel universe, Shankar also produced Dirty Laundry, a short that allowed Thomas Jane to reprise his Punisher role. Both videos are shown below.

Leave a Reply

