Sometimes you just have to revisit your favorite childhood games through Smooth McGroove…

final-fantasy-vii

Music has a dramatic impact in our favorite video games. It changes the way we think and feel about the events occurring. And when years have flown by and you have forgotten about these games, everything can come rushing back to you as soon as you hear the music. So as a random post in between my massive projects, I figured I’d do some revisiting. With a bit of a twist.

Max Gleason, AKA Smooth McGroove, reintroduces our favorite video game tunes by singing acapella versions. His awesome talent (and his cat Charl) turned him into a deserving YouTube sensation. Not that he needs me to spread his YouTube channel, but you should still go subscribe to him.

Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

 

While the original Zelda was my first LoZ game on the NES, A Link to the Past contained my first solid memories of the series. I never really played it until after I grew up and became consumed by Ocarina of Time and Majora’s Mask, but I still appreciate the memories of the late nights and “sick days” I took from school to watch Dad play.

Final Fantasy VIII

 

If you have been a dedicated reader of mine then you know how big of a fan I am of the Final Fantasy series, particularly Final Fantasy VIII. While VII is also a great title, I hate how it often overshadows the greatness of VIII. Zell was the first video game character I physically wanted to slap (before I got to know him, of course). What’s interesting to note is the fact that VIII was my introduction to the series. I actually found it at a movie rental place. Y’know, back as a kid who picked video games simply because the case looked cool. It was obviously a very good choice!

This song in particular is one of the first I remember of the game. I think this is because I initially didn’t like and understand Laguna’s story (when I was young and didn’t work far enough into the game), but I enjoyed this battle music more than the others.

Donkey Kong Country

 

Donkey Kong Country was one of those games I probably overplayed as a child. I remember hating the aquatic stage for some odd reason (the carts were my favorite), but the music always stuck with me. Whenever I think about SNES titles, this game is usually the first one that comes to mind. As one of those games that accompanied me throughout my childhood, it may not have struck an emotional chord like games such as Zelda and Final Fantasy, but it definitely left a lasting impression.

Sonic the Hedgehog 2

 

I loved Sonic and I hated it… primarily because of this level. I don’t have too much to say about the game other than the fact that it made water freaking terrifying!

Final Fantasy X

 

Final Fantasy X has to be my favorite Final Fantasy title after VIII. It was the first time I played a Final Fantasy game as a (semi) grown person. Let me rephrase that: At least I understood what was actually going on. The story was awesome. The characters were kind of awesome. I remember wishing that Blitz Ball was a real sport… and this song always makes me cry.

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

 

Ocarina of Time was the first Zelda title that completely consumed my life. I remember being so excited to get a N64 as a child, but because we struggled with funds, we couldn’t afford this game when it first came out (I still can’t believe cartridges used to cost $60 on release!) so we rented it. And we rented it. And we probably paid more money than we would have if we just bought the damn game. I couldn’t tell you how many times we had to also pay late fees.

I remember really liking Gerudo Valley, but I’m not really sure why. I can only assume it was because of the music… but all of the music in Ocarina of Time is anchored to my brain so… whatever. It’s all great!

Final Fantasy VII

 

I’ve only recently began playing Final Fantasy VII (don’t hurt me), and while it’s been awesome so far, one thing has stuck out to me the most: Jenova is freaking creepy! Also no, I haven’t beaten the game yet (don’t hurt me again).

The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask

 

If you have read some of my past articles then you know that I’m also a big fan of Majora’s Mask. I’ve also really enjoyed the certain theories that are accompanying the title since they make the game feel even darker than it already is… which is awesome. This song is once of my favorites considering I remember thinking how cool the observatory was! With the rainbows and the strange old man and the telescope that let me spy on the evil moon… good times.

One thought on “Sometimes you just have to revisit your favorite childhood games through Smooth McGroove…

  1. *Claps* Wow! I had never really heard of this guy before (please don’t hurt me). I don’t think I got that far in A Link to the Past, that game was just too hard for me. I seem to remember the reason I liked playing through the Gerudo Valley as a kid, was because I got to sneak around. Did you know you can spot secret tunnels from the telescope in the observatory? There will be these guys waving their arms up and down, and when you go to where they were standing there’s a tunnel.
    I haven’t actually played any Final Fantasy games, except for Chocobo Tales, but I found out about the series from Kingdom Hearts. Final Fantasy VII would probably have to be my favorite (despite not ever playing it), thanks to Cloud. Actually, it was because Cloud showed up in Kingdom Hearts that I ever even checked out the series.
    Donkey Kong Country was another game I gave up on, at least I played some of it though.
    I haven’t really played a lot of Sonic games. I can tell right off that I wouldn’t like Sonic the Hedgehog 2. Because, I despise side-scrolling Sonic games. Don’t get me wrong, some people like them, and I respect their opinion. But those games just aren’t for me, I feel like the screen moves too fast, and I’m missing stuff.
    Sorry for the long comment, and if it seems jumbled together. I just had to mention this stuff.

Leave a Reply

