2014 Call of Duty Championship Rules and Details Announced



Today, Activision released the details concerning the highly anticipated Call of Duty Championship. Returning to Los Angeles, California, the championship will take place on March 28-30, allowing teams the chance to win part of the huge $1 million prize pool. The tournament will host 32 of the top Call of Duty teams around the world.

CEO of Activision Publishing, Eric Hirshburg said, “Last year’s championship came down to the final minute of the final match with everyone holding their breath to see who would win. The skill, passion and energy brought by these teams and the crowd looking-on showed just what makes our community the best in the world.” He continued, “Call of Duty is more than a video game. It’s a pastime shared by millions. It’s exciting to play and fun to watch, and we can’t wait to see what this year’s event has in store.”

Call of Duty teams covering North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Australia will compete for the first time on the new Xbox One at the championship. To qualify for the event, players will compete through online tournaments on the Xbox 360, and will be broadcasted on MLG.tv. Select live regional finals will take place in late February through early March in Australia, the United Kingdom, and the United States and will be played on the Xbox One.

Announced on MLG, “teams will earn their spots through a range of qualifying events, starting with online qualifiers on MLG.tv and other sites, and concluding with live regional finals across the globe. Teams can register now for two US online competitions with the top eight teams from each qualifier advancing to the MLG Call of Duty Championship US Regional Final on March 8 and 9 in Florida. The top eight teams at the US Regional Final will move on to the Call of Duty Championship in Los Angeles.”

The official qualifying rules have been posted for interested teams at MLG to help with preparation.

champions 2

With all of the major roster changes that have taken place, it will be interesting to see which team can make it out on top. Last year’s Call of Duty Championship highlighted the disbanded Fariko Impact squad who made a very Complexity-like run through earlier competitions before sealing the first place spot. Damon “Karma” Barlow, once part of the championship team, is now on Complexity, a powerhouse team that just can’t seem to be stopped. Will he become a championship player for the second year in a row, or will newly redeveloped teams like Optic Gaming (who just welcomed ex-Impact player Parasite) knock his team off of its pedestal? The momentum leading into the qualifiers will be extremely important as new rosters develop chemistry and skill together,  and with all of the new competition this year, more and more teams from around the world will be battling furiously to qualify for the major competition. It’s possible that Call of Duty eSports could obtain a surprising champion this year.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s