Why I plan to sell Call of Duty: Ghosts

call_of_duty_ghosts-HD

By: Cain Jones

When I received my Xbox One, Call of Duty: Ghosts came as part of the package. Great, I thought. A current FPS to play with friends and mindlessly kill people. And for the first month of play that was exactly what I did, but very soon I became sick of the game. And now, two months down the line, I’m moving on.

You know what you are going to get out of Call of Duty. It is one of the most popular and celebrated gaming franchises of our time, and is arguably the best FPS franchise ever. I have always been a fan of shooters as they pass the time easily and do not always require using your brain to play them. And this is the first reason why I have elected to get rid of it. I am not good enough to play the game competitively and not bad enough to want to improve.

Reason two is much more specific to Ghosts as an individual game. In my opinion, Ghosts has nothing on any of the other games in its series (besides MW3 which had the same problem Ghosts does) because it just has no flavor. The campaign aspect is at best playable, and at worst downright boring. The multiplayer gameplay is as it always has been, except Black Ops 2’s maps were exciting, and Ghosts’ maps don’t do it for me.

Third, finally and most importantly, I cannot stand the alien game mode. It is not varied enough to keep players on their toes and not simple enough to have replayability. Compared to Zombies game modes it feels sluggish as movement is more restricted, having to kill “XYZ” number of “XYZs” to move forward. Whereas Zombies shines because you are constantly moments away from the game over as you run for your life dropping grenades at your feet. The aliens are void of any intimidation factor, and according to the Ghosts Wiki, we only know two characters so far, and this includes a new DLC map that recently arrived. It just doesn’t thrill me the way Zombies did.

So those are some of the reasons I will trade in Ghosts, and probably pick up a copy of Assassin’s Creed: Black Flag or NBA 2K14. Be sure to check in regularly as I will review the game I trade Ghosts in for as they both have some interesting aspects that are definitely worth discussing.

A parting question: What was your favorite Zombies map? Thanks for taking the time out to read my post and have a great day, gamers!

One thought on “Why I plan to sell Call of Duty: Ghosts

Leave a Reply

